Summer & Well-being

Happy Memorial Day! 
 

Our summer celebrations have begun.  When I think of Memorial Day I think of the first official picnic of the summer and the begging of a time where it is much easier for me to connect to my well-being.  I love summer and all it brings….flowers, warm breezes, balmy nights, lighter clothing, hot sand, warm water, sailing, yard and beach parties.  My list goes on.  During meditation and when I take the time to connect to my well-being my vision is always connected to the warm conditions of summer.

 As I was wondering which direction to take the discussion of wholeness after the healthier eating and raw food challenge, it occurred to me that this might be the perfect time (summer) to facilitate a discussion of well-being.  Well-being is an important part of the S.U.N. coaching program that I work with.  After helping our clients connect to their sense of well-being it is then suggested as part of their daily practice as they move toward their goals. 

 I have noticed the idea of living in alignment with our well-being shows up often in spiritual discussions, yet is frequently confusing to individuals about what that means for them and how to really get there.  Part of the problem is that the true definition of well-being is different for everyone.  Your sense of well-being is different from mine.

Merriam-Webster defines well-being as: “the state of being, happy, healthy or prosperous”  Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy says: “ Well-being is most commonly used in philosophy to describe what is non-instrumentally or ultimately good for a person..”  Strength-finder’s Tom Rath, who now has a book out on well-being, describes five essential elements for well-being:  career, social, financial, physical and community.

 WOW – that’s a lot for what seems like a simple word.  So, let’s start simple.  What is well-being to you?  Why is it important?  Send me a note – I would love to read your comments.

Leave a Reply

