Body Time: Let’s Go Raw – Conclusion Part 1

There is no doubt about it, eating organic, raw fruits and vegetables for a month helped to give me a huge jump forward in my journey toward optimal health.  I had a lot more energy and most exciting for me, at the end of the fourth week I was down another three pounds on the scale, for a total 30 day loss of 14 pounds.  My blood pressure was a few points lower, but not down enough to consider lowering or dropping my medications.

Even with all these positive results, I found I still had big reservations about maintaining this style of eating as a total way of life.  My craving for ‘hot’ food was helped, but not satisfied, by warming foods to 118 degrees and drinking hot teas and water.  Also, I didn’t think my self-control would be strong enough to keep up the different style of eating while watching my family continue to eat all the old things I loved.  I found attending social gatherings in restaurants especially difficult.  So, using what I learned in my coach training; I recognized that I was still missing a few key factors that would help me to sustain the new life style.  One was maintaining a true passion for the change and second was building enough enjoyment in the change to outweigh the pleasure I received from fats and sugar.  I realized that I was still forcing myself, like I was on a diet and not creating a wonderful life style change, which for me is maintainable for a while but not sustainable.  It was time to take stock again and review my emotional and mental health in order to rebuild a sustainable plan.

Luckily I have lots of winning principles!  One of which is a strong network of friends who are all working the same process.  During the 30 days Chris introduced me to Dr. Joel Fuhrman’s book, Eat to Live.  Dr. Fuhrman is one of the nutrition researchers that is highlighted in the Raw for 30 challenge, so I was very excited to read in his book that hot vegetable soups and stews with cooked beans are allowed because the nutrients are retained in the broth. An exciting possibility!  I will share more about Dr. Fuhrman’s book in later posts.

2 responses to “Body Time: Let’s Go Raw – Conclusion Part 1

  1. Congratulations on the weight loss…..eating that way sounds like a real challenge. Glad you found that soups/stews are also good. What were your
    protein foods…on a raw diet. At our age that is important also, for maintaining muscle. Staying healthy is the goal….want to be able to keep up with the grandchildren I have and be able to enjoy the great outdoors here in Colorado. Glad all is well….miss you. I will be there on May 4-10, let’s try and get together then. Take care…..blessings on your journery.

    • Hi Taryn,
      Good to hear from you. Surprisingly I have learned that green veggies often have more protein per calorie than many meat and grain sources. When eating raw I used lots of broccoli, kale, nuts and seeds. Since reading ‘Eat to Live’ I am using lots more beans. And I can attest to having more energy when following my healthier plan. I don’t have grandchildren or any on the horizon but am looking forward to having enough energy to chase them around someday. Looking forward to seeing you in May. Let me know what days you will be free when you are here. Blessings, Peggy

Leave a Reply

