Let’s Go Raw – Week 4

At the beginning of week 4, I needed to realign my thinking.  My usual beginning of the week weigh in showed a loss of just one pound.  Hummm…guess it’s time to face the fact that too many nuts and too much agave nectar is, after all, too much fat and sugar.  Healthier fat and sugar to be sure, however, as with everything moderation is the key – especially when working toward weight loss.  I was determined not to let the one pound loss bring me down, one pound was still one more pound and I felt great!  Plus, I am excited to know that the nuts and agave nectar will not hurt a thing once I have reached my goal weight.

Still missing hot foods I was very glad it was the last week of my ‘raw for 30’ challenge.  Determined to complete the full 30 days, I went digging for recipes – minus the nuts – that would see me through the week and decided to try out several cabbage recipes.  My favorite turned out to be Creamy Pineapple Coleslaw from Jordan Maerin’s Raw Foods For Busy People (see post from Let’s Go Raw Week 2).  To top it off, with a good shredder this recipe is very easy to make!  Coleslaw:  2 c shredded green cabbage, ½ c shredded carrots, 1 c pineapple chunks, 2 T chopped parsley, salt and pepper to taste.  Dressing: ¼ c raw cashew butter, ¼ c pineapple juice, 1 T fresh lemon juice, ½ T olive oil, 2 t dill.   In the picture above I varied the recipe by doubling it and using half red cabbage.

Leave a Reply

