Body Time: Let’s Go Raw – Week 2

The second week presented a challenge for me because I needed to be out-of-town most of the week.  My Mom and I were staying together in a guest house near the hospital in Traverse City as my Dad was having back surgery.  The nice part was that this allowed me to pack some of my own food – so along with my suitcase I brought a cooler full of the oat groat cereal, fruit and a raw nut mix.  The rest of my meals throughout the week were challenged by the need to eat out.  As it turned out, Mom wanted to stay close by as Dad recuperated so we ate in the hospital. I found myself continually amazed at just how unhealthy most of the food is in the hospital (place of healing) cafeteria.  My options were limited to fruit, salad, salad and more salad.

Needless to say by the end of the week I didn’t want any more lettuce.  I came home desperate for something different and got busy looking for recipes!  A lot of the recipes I like to make come from two recipe books (pictured) that I bought at my local health food store.  First is Raw Foods for Busy People by Jordan Maerin and second is Raw Food Made Easy by Jennifer Cornbleet.  Both authors have nice websites.  Jordan’s site is: www.rawfoodsforbusypeople.com and Jennifer’s is: www.learnrawfood.com.   Also if you Google Raw Foods you will find lots of other great recipes and You Tube clips to browse.

On the following Monday I weighed myself again.   I know, I just don’t seem to be able to resist – even though I promised myself not to keep stepping on the scale.  I am continuing to remind myself that this is a life style change and not another diet.  This time I was rewarded and very happy to see that all the salads paid big dividends – – I lost another 5 lbs.  Also, in case you are wondering, my Dad’s surgery went very well.  He was released from the hospital on Saturday and began happily recuperating at home.

Leave a Reply

