Surprise Support & A Pot Luck

In my fresh excitement about the information I learned watching the ‘Raw for 30 clips’ I began telling everyone I ran into about the website and my plan to take the challenge in January.  Much to my surprise many of my friends responded with immediate enthusiasm and wanted to join me in the challenge.  Before I knew it we decided to have a pot luck dinner where we each would bring a prepared raw food dish along with the recipe. 

Nine people voiced their interest in being a part of the challenge or working in their own way toward healthier eating during January and on Wednesday December 15th six of us were available to gather for the Raw Food Pot Luck and recipe exchange.  Pictured gathered around the table from left to right are my husband Mike (he liked the salads but jokingly commented to me, “Where’s the beef?’) Minal, Carolyn, Kathy and Bonnie. Also present but not pictured are myself and Chris.  Also included is a plate full of the different foods we had that evening.  Just look how beautiful and healthy it all looks.  A long time friend of mine, Gladys Williams, has always told me that healthy food is beautiful to look at.  On the plate are Kale Salad, Beet Salad, Cucumber Salad, Mango Avocado Salad, Marinara Sauce with Zucchini noodles and Raw Spring Rolls. 

In this picture Carolyn shows us how to make Donut Holes the raw food way.   

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed the food.  The pot luck allowed me to try foods I would never have tried on my own such as kale and beets.  I enjoyed each of the recipes with the exception of the beets.  Those who like beets, including Mike, found the recipe very good. The pot luck was such a success that we scheduled the next one for January 3rd.

Leave a Reply

