Joy on the Journey

“There is a joy in the journey.  There’s a light we can love on the way.  There is a wonder and wildness to life and freedom for all who obey.”  I woke up this morning with these words from one of my favorite songs by Michael Card happily singing over and over in my mind.  I think it touches me so deeply because it speaks directly to my experience.  When I first encountered the song I argued with the words, ‘freedom for all who obey’.   Then I learned the true meaning of the word obey – ‘to listen attentively’.  The next time I heard the song it hit me – OF COURSE.  We are free when we listen attentively for the voice of our Beloved Creator.  But beware – listening attentively will change your life!  Your sense of wonder will expand and a deep sense of joy will gradually blanket your life, even in the rough times.  As you listen attentively and allow that loving, creative voice to be your guide, life becomes a truly wild, yet sweet adventure and you are set free, free to follow that which leads to your bliss.

Leave a Reply

